Friday’s Fascinations: A Crisis, yet Nostalgic, State of Mind

Quote of the Week: “I don’t have any reasons, I left them all behind. I’m in a New York State of Mind.” New York State of Mind by Billy Joel

In the ongoing saga of my existential crisis, I have been reading a lot of articles about people who do really cool jobs and how they got into doing what they do. My favorite article I’ve read so far is called “Why I Gave Up a $95,000 Job to Move to an Island and Scoop Ice Cream” by Noelle Hancock. Intrigued, I read it. And my god, it was so eye-opening in that inspiring way. It’s written by a woman who is a Yale grad who works as a writer and lives that corporate life in that, making almost six-figures, something most people would declare successful. But she realizes she is unhappy at her desktop and decides to move to the smallest U.S. Virgin Island St. John, where she takes a job scooping ice cream for $10 an hour. But she loves it. In doing this, she realizes there is a whole lifestyle people, now like her, have where they up and move whenever they feel like it and work odd jobs in wonderful places which allows them to travel around the world like a nomad. It’s a concept they don’t sell you in college- the idea that you can live a thousand lives in one. Mostly because college makes money off the idea that you will forever work toward one goal, and that will be the end-all-be-all.

In other news, I also rediscovered a song from Drake’s Take Care album called The Real Her ft. Lil Wayne and Andre 3000. It’s such a chill hip-hop song that also has a cool message of the hardships of finding real love when you’ve made a career out of being a rich and famous playboy. I really love Drake and in particular the Take Care album, but this song might be my favorite off the album.

This week I also rediscovered my girlish love for NSYNC’s Bye Bye Bye Music Video. It’s such a fun music video full of theatrics, classic boyband synchronized dancing, and a high-speed getaway. Need I say more?

And that’s another week on the books. Have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

