Friday’s Fascinations: Cake, Crime, and Crisis

It’s been a long week, guys. Let’s break it down.

For one, Ace of Cakes is now on Netflix! Ace of Cakes is a show that was on the Food Network a couple of years ago and was very popular, about a guy named Duff Goldman who makes crazy, awesome, unbelievably realistic and whimsical cakes, including some that even have electronic elements to them like lights, sound, movement, rockets and fireworks. Saying that his company Charm City Cakes makes the greatest cakes you’ve ever seen is an understatement. They just do really phenomenal work, along with having a good time doing so, making their TV show entertaining and even educational to a certain extent. I used to watch the show when it was on TV a couple years back and I was in my Chef phase of career goals. So, if you have Netflix and are interested in a good time, Ace of Cakes is where it’s at.

While we’re on the topic of Netflix, they have introduced a new series available exclusively on Netflix called Daredevil. However, I’m not interested in talking to you about that (yet). What I want to talk to you about is the song in the trailer of the series, a song called “Beautiful Crime” by Tamer. As Sherlock says, “the clue is in the name” as the song is beautiful. I find it to be a song about what it’s actually like being a superhero and the difficulty in the action of being a superhero, and that it might not be as romantic as it seems. Whether you like superheroes or just chill, profound music, then this song is definitely worth a listen.

Lastly for this week I feel the need to explain a little bit of what I’m currently going through, as that has been the most overwhelming thing I have been thinking about lately. I explained in a couple posts (“Plot Twist”, “Lost and Insecure-You Found Me”) that I am going through it with my very first existential crisis (aww). While it is something that I’m sure everyone goes through, for me at least, that doesn’t make going through it any easier. When I bring it up, people immediately say “everyone goes through it you’re fine.” You’re right, I am actually fine, and there is rarely a moment when I forgot how lucky I actually am, even getting to go through an existential crisis because I feel that is something that is so first world of me. I mean, I get the ability to define my life on my terms, instead of having to worry about my own survival because I’m lucky enough to have parents who have taken pretty good care of that for me. And while I realize all of this, it doesn’t really make it easier to go through, funny enough. I have always been under the impression that everybody’s got problems, whether that be deciding what you’re going to actually do with your life or how you’re going to put food on the table, everybody’s problems feel big and important to them, so just let them go through it instead of shame them and say “at least you’re not starving”. Again, you’re right, I’m not. But counting my lucky stars every thirty seconds doesn’t actually fix my other problems. *steps off soapbox*

Anyway, that’s not where I meant to go with that; the writing just took me there. What I actually wanted to talk about is the fact that I am starting to want to talk about this existential crisis of mine (the first month I cried just about every time I attempted to talk about it or think in depth about it). So you’ll probably be hearing more about this in upcoming posts, because the best way for me to work out my thoughts is by writing about it, as you do.

So that’s that. Sorry for the random rant, but that’s just how I feel. Regardless, I hope you have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

