Friday’s Fascinations: RB is Back!

Quote of the Week: “Worse things happen at sea” -Cressida Bonas

After a couple weeks off, I’m back! And I’ve got some serious ground to cover, as there has been a lot of cool stuff going on in entertainment while I’ve been away. Let’s not waste a second more.

First of all, can we talk about Troye Sivan? For those unaware, Troye Sivan is a South African/Australian 19 year-old made famous by his roles in movies such as the X-Men franchise and his ship with YouTuber Tyler Oakley (#Troyler), as well as his own YouTube channel. As if that’s not enough, he also has an EP out called TRXYE, and while it only has five songs on it, it is one of my favorite albums of all time. All the songs are so beautiful and they literally soundtrack my life. The production of all of them is really cool, the messages are interesting, as they’re not all straight-forward, cutesy pop love songs, and they are good for thinking and dancing, which is more than I would I feel polite asking for.

Sticking with the YouTube vibe, my friend Taylor recently turned me on to the YouTube channel JacksGap. Well back on, I should say. I knew about JacksGap before Taylor told me to watch Jack Harries’, along with his identical twin Finn Harries, channel. I had even watched some of their videos before, but it had been awhile. In revisiting their channel, I had rediscovered a whole treasure trove of cool, inspirational videos such as Following Heart: Shark Conservationist, a series about women following their dreams and this particular episode is about a woman who lives and works in the Bahamas as a Shark Conservationist, and the Rickshaw Run videos, a four-part series where Jack and Finn along with a couple of other British vloggers take part in a tuk-tuk-driving marathon across India over a three-week period, and it is sure to excite the thrill-seeker in anyone.

Last, but not least, this week my alma mater is putting on The Addams Family: The Musical, and I’m stoked. I would qualify this musical as a part of my top three (with Pippin and Sunday in the Park with George, of course). When I saw it this last summer at the Muny, I was genuinely surprised by how much I liked it; it just made me remember how much I love the Addams family and how quirky and funny and passionate they are. Plus, the music in the musical is unbelievably catchy and dance-y in that perfectly theatrical way. I love it.

So that’s this week then. Until next time, I hope you have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

