Friday’s Fascinations: Lady Gaga, AHS and MTrain, Oh My!

Quote of the Week: “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take” -Wayne Gretsky

What a week it has been! The only natural place to start is at the Oscars. Of course this means we’re starting with Lady Gaga’s tribute to the Sound of Music. Gosh was it good. Now, I have always been a serious fan of Lady G, but this just solidified why. Not many know that she is a classically trained jazz pianist and vocalist, so she actually brings some serious musical chops to the table. Her medley of songs from the classic Sound of Music was beautiful and sounded a lot like Julie Andrews, who came out at the end and gave Gaga a big hug. Beautiful all around.

But I’m not done with Gaga yet. Oh no. She also announced this week that she will be in a TV show I have only recently been obsessed with- American Horror Story. Oh yeah, Gaga will be in the next season of AHS. In typical Mother Monster-style, she released a darkly theatrical video announcing the news, but also announcing that this season of AHS will be themed “Hotel”. Previous seasons themes have included “Murder House”, “Asylum”, “Coven” and “Freak Show.” PLUS the spinoff to American Horror Story will be premiering in 2016 called American Crime Story: The People vs. O.J. Simpson, focusing on the infamous O.J. Simpson trial. The show will star AHS veteran Sarah Paulson, along with Cuba Gooding Jr, John Travolta and David Schwimmer. I can always use another crime drama. Even if they do keep me up at night. Anyway…

In other news, I have developed a real love for MTrain, aka Meghan Trainor this week. In particular, her song “My Selfish Heart.” Not only does it encompass everything I love about pop music, but it is about a girl breaking up with her boyfriend because she is so focused on her dreams, but she wishes him the best. I love this song because, while I’ve never had a boyfriend (and I’m actually more than okay with that), I am so focused on my dreams that I can’t imagine having a romantic interest come between that. That and I’m “so in love with myself” alla Iggy Azalea (listen to the song “F**k Love” and you’ll understand. It’s also perfect for the person who is in love with their self).

And that’s a wrap on another entertaining week. I hope you guys liked last week’s Ten Things Week, and if you haven’t checked out those posts yet, definitely be sure to do that. Otherwise, I’ll see you back here next week. Have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

