10 Wanderlust Wishes

Ever since I can remember I have dreamed of traveling the world. From the spice markets of Morocco to the Gothic architecture throughout Europe, I want to see, taste and experience it all. The list I have compiled is not everywhere I want to go (mostly because that is far more than ten places), but it is encompasses the places I have always dreamed of going to and different experiences I have wanted to have or specific places I wanted to see in each. Without further ado, here are the ten places on my Wanderlust Wish-list. (All pictures from Pinterest)

The Mid-Autumn Festival in China ft. Mooncakes

The Mid-Autumn Festival is an annual festival held in China and Vietnam centered on lunar worship. In ancient Chinese customs, it is regarded that the emperor should offer sacrifices to the moon in the autumn, and in turn the sun in the spring. While my adoration and wonder and awe for the moon runs deep, what really drives me to want to visit this festival are the mooncakes. Mooncakes are Chinese pastries that have a golden, tender crust on the outside and traditionally a red bean paste or lotus seed paste filling. This first time I had seen these was on a PBS show called Sagwa the Chinese Siamese Cat when I was little. Not only did I love the cartoon of an adorable cat who lived in China, but I decided I had to get my hands on one of those mooncakes. And I still feel very passionately about going to that festival and eating those mooncakes.

7825e79e6c40a48a245968f4fac96a65

Festival of Lights in Thailand

Who has seen Tangled and hasn’t dreamed of being surrounded by the “floating lights”? And while I have watched Tangled on the beach in Jamaica in the nighttime, I still have dreams of going to see these lanterns float through the sky. Thailand hosts a lantern-floating event called the Festival of Lights where people let go of a bunch of these lanterns. Two places in and they’re both festivals. Moving right along.

Festival of Lights

Angelina’s in Paris

Angelina’s is a café, I believe, in Paris, France. They are renowned for their apparently exquisite hot chocolate. And where there’s chocolate, I won’t be far behind. I just want to fact-check it; you know, make sure the hot chocolate is truly exquisite. Strictly business.

Angelina's 2 Angelina's

Neuschwanstein Castle in Germany

This nineteenth century castle was built for Ludwig II of Bavaria. After his death in the late 1800s, though, the castle became open to the public. If the castle seems fairytale, well, it is. Neuschwanstein Castle served as the inspiration behind Sleeping Beauty’s castle in Disneyland. I have always dreamed of going to Germany, and the Neuschwanstein Castle is one of the biggest reasons why.

Neuschwanstein Castle

Sphinx in Egypt

This one is a little cliché and touristy, I admit. However, that does not make it any less impressive I imagine. I am enamored by the ancient world, particularly Egypt’s ancient history. The Sphinx is a huge part of that, as well as a big part of the mystery of a seemingly lost world. It seems fitting to me then that I should want to see the Sphinx in person, as if actually seeing it in the flesh would make all of those tales of a past world true.

Sphinx

Umbrella Street in Portugal

I know nothing of where Umbrella Street actually is in Portugal, or of its significance. All I know is its cool. That and it’s been in my travel board on Pinterest for a while now.

Umbrella Street

High Tea in London

What kind of list would this be if I didn’t include one of my most prolific wanderlust wishes-London? Among the many, many things I imagine doing on a trip to London, what I think of most is high tea at a fancy-schmancy place like the Ritz or Claridge’s. Really, I just want to pretend that I’m a part of the British Aristocracy. Until I get to London, I’ll just have to settle for reading about Kate Middleton’s loveliness and watching The Royals on E! (premiering March 15).

High Tea in London

Eat a Liege Waffle in Belgium

First, a liege waffle is street food in Belgium that is a waffle, yes, but unlike its counterpart the Belgian waffle which is traditionally dressed up in all kinds of delicious debauchery, the liege is very minimalist. It is a waffle that can be eaten with your hands and has little sugar cubes throughout the batter for a pop of sweetness. Just the thought of that makes me want to get on the next flight out to Belgium so I can spend the next week surrounded by waffles on waffles on waffles.

Liege Waffles

Liege Waffles

See? I told you liege waffles have sugar cubes throughout them.

See? I told you liege waffles have sugar cubes throughout them.

Ride an Elephant in India

I actually just discovered today that India actually hosts an Elephant Festival in Jaipur. That’s amazing and only solidifies my desire to want to go there for elephants. Elephants are my favorite animal, though I love lots of different animals. I find elephants to be very profound. They are gentle creatures that are known to hold great spiritual power and I love that. Wise animals, those majestic elephants.

A man and an elephant at the Elephant Festival in India's capital Jaipur

A man and an elephant at the Elephant Festival in India’s capital Jaipur

See the Cherry Blossom Trees in Japan

Anyone who knows about the Japanese Cherry Blossom trees in Japan knows that when they bloom they are beautiful, but they only stay like that for a short time, like three days or so. Being that I love natural beauty and also a challenge, I want to go see these for myself. But really, they are so beautiful.

Japanese Cherry Blossom Trees

Leave a Reply

