10 Favorite Movies

To kick off Ten Things Week, and in anticipation of the Oscars this Sunday, the first installment shall be my ten favorite movies.

The Great Gatsby (2013)

Anyone who knows me knows I love The Great Gatsby. I fell in love with the 2013 remake of the film starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Carey Mulligan when I saw it in theatres almost two years ago. In fact, I saw it twice. That’s how much I love it. I love how Gatsby perfectly captures the glitz and glamour of the twenties while simultaneously showing that all that glitters is not gold. Even better, I like that the 2013 version is an updated take on the classic story, showing, in a way, what it would be like if the twenties were to take place in the modern day. I love, love, love The Great Gatsby.

The Imitation Game (2014)

This one has only just come out and is nominated for eight Oscars. I raved about this film as well. This was by far and away the best story I have witnessed. It’s powerful, important, widely unknown, and even kind of funny.  Benedict Cumberbatch fans have to see it. Anyone who uses a computer needs to see it. It is a story of monumental importance. And its also just a great film in all regards.

The Young Victoria (2009)

A movie I discovered on HBO, Young Victoria soon became one of my favorite movies.  The story of Queen Victoria and her relationship with Prince Albert, who would one day become her husband but not the king, Young Victoria is a beautiful, romantic period drama. Plus, Emily Blunt stars as Queen Victoria herself.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005)

The fourth in the Harry Potter series, it is both my favorite Harry Potter book and movie. For those who aren’t familiar with Harry Potter, Goblet of Fire is the turning point in the series, where Harry’s seemingly accidental drawing to be one of the wizards to compete in the Triwizard Tournament is no accident. The events in the tournament all lead up to a terrifying discovery by Harry that challenges the fate of the wizarding world.

 The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (2014)

This last winter saw the final installment of The Hobbit. Of the three Hobbit movies, this last one was by far my favorite. It was the most shocking of them, but also the most heartwarming. The cinematography was gorgeous, as usual for The Hobbit films, and all of the actors were so devoted to their characters. It was a great end to the Lord of the Rings prequel.

Alice in Wonderland (2010)

Alice in Wonderland was written to be a Tim Burton film, it seems. While I love a lot of Tim Burton’s films, his rendition of Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll is stunning. It is a visual wonderland (pun intended) that is both lightly whimsical and darkly amusing. The story itself is a little different than you might remember it, as Alice is now grown up and about to get engaged, when she falls down the rabbit hole once again, this time needing to slay the Jabberwocky and return the reign to the White Queen from her sister the Red Queen.

Coco Before Chanel (2009)

Completely in French, but with English subtitles, this biopic of the famed designer is a personal look into the life of the woman who redefined women’s fashion. If you think you know Coco, think again. Then, go watch this movie.

Blackfish (2013)

This highly controversial documentary exposes SeaWorld’s inhumane and dangerous practice of keeping orca whales in captivity for entertainment purposes. I’m not sure that everything presented in Blackfish is accurate, so before you believe every incriminating detail the film offers up about SeaWorld, do a little research into both sides. It’s eye-opening on both sides. Regardless, the documentary is a compelling one, and one I’ve watched at least four times. It just never ceases to be interesting. I only wish that all documentaries were nearly as compelling as this one.

Sleeping Beauty (1959)

When I was little, a spent a lot of my time torn between whether I loved Sleeping Beauty or Cinderella more. Ultimately, Sleeping Beauty won. While I love Cinderella more now than when I was little, mostly because I can appreciate the beautiful animation much better now, I still have such a love for Sleeping Beauty. Between the dress changing from pink to blue and blue to pink, Maleficent, the fairies attempting to make a presentable cake for Aurora, Prince Phillip and the iconic ballad “Once Upon a Dream,” I find myself completely immersed in the fairytale. Some movies only get better with time. Usually Disney films.

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows (2011)

It is also no secret that I love Sherlock Holmes anything. The Guy Ritchie films were my first exposure to Sherlock, and really where I began my love affair with Mr. Holmes. And while Sherlock Holmes (the first film in the series) is great, the second installment in the movie series, A Game of Shadows, is my favorite. It also took me a second to understand. The first one was very straightforward, but the second one was much more the guessing game. The plot thickens, along with becoming a more elaborate story than before. Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law do their part in adding to the film with their cheeky and adorable bromance as Sherlock and Watson.

Leave a Reply

