Once Upon a Time

Okay, so yesterday’s post was a little intense. I was just going through a lot of emotions, as I’m sure you can imagine. Thanks for listening. Today, though, I would like to start off by saying sorry; I know it has been a while since I have written anything, and while I have been thinking of you, I have had to focus on finishing all of my homework so I can graduate this coming week. But I’m back now, and will be doing my best to make up for lost time. We need to spend some serious quality time together. Which is why I want to talk to you about something I have been thinking and reading a lot about lately… fairytales.

I was one of those little girls that loved princesses. I watched all the Disney princess movies over and over and sang all the songs with them. This was just the beginning of my love for fairytales. It was probably about a year ago that I really took an interest in reading the original fairytales by the Brothers Grimm and Hans Christian Andersen. I can tell you honestly that I find their slightly gory tales of fantasy, royalty and romance disturbingly beautiful. I think some of it is the aspect of a romantic tragedy. The best fairytale I have read is Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid”. That’s crazy because I have never been a fan of Disney’s rendition of the tale. However, I loved Andersen’s story, possibly because it was so different from the Disney version. Andersen’s was not sugar-coated or really happy at all. But it was beautiful. It has so much meaning behind it. It is not just a tale for entertainment’s sake; it is a tale that describes what it means to love someone truly. If you are looking for a good and short read, this is a great story and you can find it online for free. Next, I am looking to read Andersen’s “The Snow Queen” which, of course, was Disney’s inspiration for their movie Frozen. It is a seven part story, so it might be a little while before I actually finish it.

Also, I discovered that Prince Charming was based off of real men called the Princes of Chambre. (You can read about the history here- http://www.bewilderingstories.com/special/contests/contest1/prince_charming.html). I just thought that was crazy exciting news for a fairytale fiend like myself.

Well I hope that was a little lighter than yesterday’s conversation. Hey, at least it was about something magical. And hopefully I have you interested in looking into some of these stories now. If you do read them, I would love to hear about what you think in the comments.

 

 

Leave a Reply

