The Words

I don’t know how it started or what prompted it, but for the last couple months, I have been going through my very first writer’s block. Even now, I am having difficulty figuring out what to say. I have just been writing so much that, at some point, it stopped being fun. It became work, like math or anything else that is systematic. All of a sudden, it was like there was no room to explore. I felt cornered. Like I was just some machine manufacturing paper after paper, article after article.

It has been to the point that I forgot one of the most important aspects of writing-the words. Crazy as it sounds, I forgot words had meanings. Sometime even multiple meanings. I know, I know; how does one forgot something so obvious? But that’s the thing, for some reason, it was not obvious the way it had once been. All the words I used just seemed so shallow. They seemed meaningless. No word seems powerful enough in my usage as it does in other writer’s. The way to beat this, I have read, is that I have to have fun with my writing again, I have to write a lot, but not systematically, when I can avoid it.

The hardest part in all of this is remembering how to go back to that. How to keep being inspired and keep writing things that are meaningful, funny, or at least relevant. That’s in part why I started this blog; so that I could have a place to experiment with my writing.

That’s all I have to say for now, I could go on and rant for a little longer, because I’m one chatty girl, but I will leave it here for today and I will place the quote that has been inspiring me to get out of this writer’s block.

“Words are, in my not-so-humble opinion, are most inexhaustible source of magic. Capable of both inflicting injury, and remedying it.” Dumbledore

Leave a Reply

